16 October 2017- Manchester Emergency and Medical Services Awarded the Barclays Women of the Year Award

Lea Vaughan AwardWomen of North West Ambulance Service have today been recognised as part of a team of inspirational women in the emergency services by receiving a Women of the Year award for their outstanding efforts to help others after the recent attack in Manchester.

Paramedic for North West Ambulance Service, Lea Vaughan joined a group of eight inspirational women from Greater Manchester to collect the award. They all played a very important role in helping patients on the evening of the terrible events in May with Lea volunteering to go inside the blast zone to help those injured.

The Barclays Women of the Year Award was presented by Camilla, The Duchess of Cornwall at the annual luncheon and awards ceremony which took place at InterContinental Hotel, London earlier today (16 October).

Director of Operations for North West Ambulance Service, Ged Blezard, said: “It’s fantastic that all of these amazing ladies have been recognised for going above their call of duty to put others first and doing all that they could to make sure that those involved in the incident were given the help and care that they needed.

“We are extremely proud of all our staff who work their socks off and do remarkable things every single day to help people in the community.”

The Women of the Year lunch celebrates 'ordinary women doing extraordinary things’ as well as leading women in all walks of life and professions.

Jane Luca, who lives in the North West and is Chair of Women of the Year, said: “These women represent the remarkable and brave response by the Greater Manchester emergency and medical services to the Manchester arena bombing in May, and became beacons of their community as they went above and beyond to care for and reassure victims, family members and the public. This award is thoroughly deserved and we salute them all.”

Women of the Year president, Sandi Toksvig hosted a group of 400 specially invited women, all honoured as a ‘2017 Woman of Achievement;’ selected for their resilience, resourcefulness, and selfless actions.